Full smoke on one batch of lump?

clund522

Hi, I'm relatively new to Drum smoking. This will be my second season using it. Should I be getting a full 8-12 hour smoke out of one batch of lump with chunks of wood? My basket in my homemade drum smoker is rectangle 6x12 and I'm filling it with one full chimney of lump and a layer of briquettes already in the basket. Last year I had to add more lump about halfway through. I was also having a huge up and down swing on temps. After reading some streams here, I'm learning more on how to control my temp better, using the bottom vents and not the top like I had been doing. I'm pretty sure this is all about temp control from the start, to help conserve the lump and not burn it all up, but I was wanting to see anybody could give me any advice.

Thanks.

Big Poppa

Administrator
yes and what I suggest without seeing your basket..it top make sure its full...I also think for a low and slow cook that one full chimney lit is too much a quarter to a half is fine...

gettinbasted

6x12? That sounds like a small fire basket to me. You may want to look at getting something larger. That being said, a full load of charcoal should be plenty for a long cook. Try filling your basket and using a paraffin starter cube placed on top to get it going instead of a full chimney. You are burning a bunch of fuel before you ever start cooking.

bbq-ram

A fully light chimney will make for a super hot start. Then your fighting it to get it down to the low 200's. Try half chimney.

gus

6x12? That sounds like a small fire basket to me. You may want to look at getting something larger. That being
said, a full load of charcoal should be plenty for a long cook. Try filling your basket and using a paraffin starter cube placed on top to get it going instead of a full chimney. You are burning a bunch of fuel before you ever start cooking.

Pappa Roach1