Boston Butt Help!!!

backbay2

Gonna smoke a Boston Butt in the morning, and once again I am new at this so any help would be appreciated. Cooking times, temperature, wrap or unwrap..... meat temp....... well you get the point...I have read all this over and over but some one on one practical advice would be nice .....oh yeah its an 8lb er

smoker037.jpg

meat man

I did one the other day. Tried to have my temp gauge at 250, which meant I was 275+ in the middle of the drum. I was around 7 hrs total cook time. Foiled at 160, pulled it at 200. Rested for about 1.5 hrs. It was delicious.

sheepdad

I usually figure about 1 1/2 hrs per pound at 275°. If i have plenty of time, i won't foil to beat the stall which usually happens between 150° and 160°. I just wait it out till 190° or so and check with my thermapen to see if it goes in like butter. Sometimes it does and sometimes i have to take it to 200°-205° before it probes effortlessly. If you want to foil it, do it at 150 or so and leave it till around 170° and then take it out of the foil till done. Foiling will definitely cut doen your cook time though.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

backbay2

Here we go on the cook so far......
Been holding temps for an hour at this point.....
Porkbutt001.jpg

Top of drum temp....
Porkbutt002.jpg

a light hickory smoke.......
Porkbutt003.jpg

and a perfect view
Porkbutt004.jpg

backbay2

Showing 180 degrees unwrapped for 5 hours worth of smoking? Bark looks realy good when I flipped it but I did not expect it to be at this temp yet..... Temp shows.. 230 lower 245 upper and 250 at the lid......

backbay2

Question??? I am goin to try to run this cook without foiling... But.. when I rest this meat do I foil or tent??

MrAdam

Question??? I am goin to try to run this cook without foiling... But.. when I rest this meat do I foil or tent??