Big Poppa Kit or Not?

frjeff

I'm hoping to begin my UDS build project soon.

Perhaps I'm asking in the wrong place, but the Big Poppa Kit intrigues me and I'm wondering about the experience of users:

1) is the bottom vent system as good as the capped pipe and brass ball valve method?
2) is the fire basket as sturdy and good (in size, time of burn, etc.) as the expanded steel type?
3) cooking grate as good as the Weber?
4) does the top vent work well

It is certainly nice looking and the price seems reasonable (I'd have about $40 in just the cooking grate and charcoal grate if I bought the Weber products). So, I'd still have to buy handles, lots of nuts and bolts, expanded steel, charcoal grate, black pipe, fittings, thermometer, etc.).

Good value and excellent cooker if I buy the kit?

Thanks; you can likely tell I'm an old man newbie on a tight budget. :eek:

Big Poppa

Administrator
Im biased. really? hehehe

There are some spectacular ball joint and diy cookers out there....The truth is that almost any uds will cook great food....but
the reason why I invested in this product is to make sure that there were no mysteries....great air flow...all the details like the little ones the cooking grates handle is shaped to hang off the edge of the drum...there are apout twenty unique little features that set this kit apart.

cragcrawler

Let me start off by saying I have not bought the kit. But what I can tell you is that If I found this kit before I built mine, it would have saved me a lot of time and trips to the hardware store. Correct me if I am wrong the kit even comes with a step drill bit which are not cheap. I built my basket and the top vents out of an old aluminum road sign I got for free. I bent it and drilled some holes in it. Took along time cuz I had to keep charging my battery! I can tell you it would have been cheaper to buy the kit on my case because I ended up in the ER to get three stitches in my hand from being cut!