Setting up for a long cook....how?

Patrick_CT

Ok. I am new to trying to do long cooks on a non pellet grill (reaf: spoiled and learning real BBQ backwords)
How di set up the basket to do a long cook? Do i line the outside with unlit charcoal and then start a little bit ofmcharcoal in the chimney and add it to the middle?
Or do i fjust add some charcoal in the basket and fill the chimney all the way up and light that way?

Might be a stupid question, but i need to get some clear answers before i screw it up.

Thanks

southga

I only use about 8-10 briquettes to start my fire. Just dump them on top of a basket of unlit charcoal with 1-2 wood chunks mixed in. I only want a very light, mild smoke flavor, so I go with less wood than most. If you want a stronger smoke flavor, add 1-2 more chunks. I generally use lump in the basket & light briquettes in the chimney.

After dumping in the lit coals, I put the racks in place & close the lid. I have 3 1" nipples, one with a ball valve. I start with all three open. As the temp rise, I begin closing off the intakes. I generally like to run long smokes for butts, etc in the 250-260 range. I'll cap off one intake around 210. Cap the second one around 225. If it's still climbing steadily at 240, I'll cut back the valve about 1/2. This will normally settle in between 250-260. At this point I only have to make small adjustments to the valve to get the temp to stabillize between 250-260. Once the temp is holding & the smoke is becoming thin & blue, I will add the meat. Expect a temp drop when you open the lid & possibly a spike after closing since you just let in a lot more oxygen. Just be patient & the temp should adjust back to between 250-260 within 20-25 mins or so.

scooter

Staff member