New guy here ...

Tim Lee

Hey ... this is my first post. I've been an amateur smoking enthusiast for several years, with most of my experience coming with offset smokers. My friends like me because when I fire up my smoker, it's usually for the purpose of feeding 30-40 of 'em. In the interest of full disclosure, I'm an employee at Bubba's Barrels, where many of you probably got your drums. Since my old offset is falling apart, I talked to BB owner Carl about getting a Big Poppa Kit as something to tide me over until I got a better offset built.

This weekend, I got the kit and a slightly dinged up stainless drum. I had Heath, who works in the shop, pre-drill it for me since he's done a lot of them (and pretty much has it down to a science). After studying the directions a bit on Friday night, I got up Saturday and put the thing together. It was very simple and took little time at all. After a brief test fire, I got the itch to start cooking. It was a nice day here in Knoxville, sunny and moderate temp-wise.

I'd spent a little time perusing this site the night before, so I had some pretty good ideas on how I wanted to go about using the drum smoker (thanks, y'all).

I didn't have a lot of time to spend, so I cooked a couple large slabs of salmon. Using Kingsford Competition Briquets and some bits of apple wood, the fish cooked up quickly and turned out really well. I pre-seasoned them with black pepper and Tabasco salt. I took one of the pieces to a party last night, and it was the hit of the food table. My wife, who loves smoked salmon, pronounced the "best ever."